When Jessica Amanda Salmonson learned of my decision to move in with H, she warned me that he was bad news, and even renewed her offer to let me move to Seattle and stay with her.

Toward the end our conversations grew heated, and I wrote it off to jealousy.

H seemed so very nice, kind and vulnerable.  He also casually tossed off names in our conversations such Asimov, Niven and so forth.  I was star-struck.  Every time I turned around, there was another notice in Locus about him and what he was achieving at Donning/Starblaze.

No one thought that trade-size paperbacks would take off, but H was doing fabulous things since taking over from Kelly Freas.

Years later, I would wish fervently that I had listened to her.

Jessica had been right and I was making a serious mistake.

