Style is an odd thing.  It can represent a lot of things.

It is a matter of word choices, voice, texture, and subject matter.

Each of my series has a different voice.

For the lycan series I decided on an informal style that reflected the ways in which the culture thinks.  I am using old fashioned, commonplace phrases, rather than striving to make each phrase something totally new.  The cultural voice says things like “chilled to the bone” in the narrative structure.

If you’re looking for elegant prose, you will not find it in my lycan novels — except for a few sections that demand a bit more of the narrative.

I also use an idiosyncratic floating third omniscient.  I walk into some scenes with one character and out of it with another.  I pan the camera across a crowd scene and dip into the heads of each person reacting to events.  I try to keep that to a minimum so that it stands out when I do it.

This is taken from film, where you will see the camera pan across the actors’ faces in a series of close ups.  Reaction shots.

Some people have told me that they can see the former journalist in my fiction.  I can too.  However, that is not necessarily a bad thing.  It is simply a choice of style.

I don’t like long narrative passages, long internal monologues and such.  I believe that narrative should be used to transition between scenes that are heavy with dialog and character interaction.

Readers today want to cut to the chase, not suffer through page after page of narrative.  In fact, when a writer fails to cut to the chase, I generally throw the book at the wall.

